This is the "Home" page of the "Wilder Library FAQs" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Wilder Library FAQs  

Answers to frequently asked questions about Wilder Library services and resources.
Last Updated: Oct 27, 2011 URL: http://vuu.libguides.com/content.php?pid=117201 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Library Info.

When is the library open?

Normal library hours for the Fall & Spring semesters:

  • Monday—Thursday 8am to 10pm
  • Friday 8am to 8pm
  • Saturday 8am to 2pm
  • Sunday 2pm to 10pm

Summer, break periods & holidays: Hours vary—please call the library at (804) 257-5822 for information.

Is there a fax machine I can use?  Yes, the library provides faxing services for faculty, staff and students.  Local faxes are free of charge; long distance faxes do require the use of a calling card (not sold at the library).  Faxing services are provided at the Circulation desk in the lobby area of the library.

How do I get items not available at Wilder Library? Richmond Academic Library Consortium (RALC):  RALC is a free service that allows VUU students to go another area university to check out materials using their VUU ID card and a RALC pass.  Passes are available at Wilder Library.  (NOTE:  students using this service are responsible for materials checked out such as overdue notices, fines, lost book fees, etc imposed by the other institution).

 

Computing Services

What software is currently available on the PC workstations in the library?

  • All public workstations in Wilder Library provide Internet access.
  • Reference and the 2nd floor Computer lab provide Microsoft Office 2003 Professional Edition (Word, Excel, Access, PowerPoint) with Office 2007 Compatibility Pack, Adobe Reader, and Windows Media Player.
  • Periodicals computers provide Microsoft Office viewers (for viewing and printing documents—no editing or typing) with Office 2007 Compatibility Pack, Adobe Reader, and Windows Media Player.
  • If you require more advanced applications or software packages—please check with your department head or school advisor (if you are a VUU faculty/staff member or a student).

I’m not a student or employee at VUU, may I use the computers in the library?

Yes, we allow the general public to use our computers.  However, VUU students and faculty members have 1st priority.  If there is a need—we may ask you to vacate your computer.

Where can I save my work?

Save your work to a USB drive.  We are phasing out floppy drives on our computers.  If you forget your USB drive—you may temporarily save a file to the computer desktop.  HOWEVER—our computers are set to erase all items saved to the desktop once that computer is restarted.  If you have saved something to the desktop, you will not be able to access or recover that document once the computer has been restarted.

Can I download programs and install them on library workstations?

No—in order to keep our computers in good condition, we do not permit users to install programs onto our public workstations.  Any changes made to computers are erased once the computers are restarted.

I can’t remember my password. Where can I get help?

Please contact Information Technology via the web at http://www.vuu.edu/technology.aspx or call (804) 257-5630.

 

About Wilder Library

ARCHIVES—In January 1997, for the first time in its history, Virginia Union University opened a dedicated Archives and Special Collections Department. In addition to preserving the historical records of the campus, the Department endeavors to collect the history of African American Richmond.

THE WILDER COLLECTION—The L. Douglas Wilder Collection memorializes the life and career of Virginia's 66th Governor (1990-1994), the first elected African American Governor in U.S. history, and Virginia Union's most celebrated alumnus.

GENERAL COLLECTION (STACKS)—There are over 147,000 volumes available for check out. Among these books is a comprehensive collection by and about Africans and African Americans.

CIRCULATION DESK—The Circulation Desk is one of the busiest places in the library as it serves as the first point of contact for many library services.

REFERENCE READING ROOM—The Reference collection contains standard reference resources which include dictionaries, biographical sources, encyclopedias, guides to business information, literary anthologies and works of literary criticism.

PERIODICALS READING ROOM—The Periodicals Room in Wilder Library houses current and back issues of periodical titles and periodical indexes in various formats.

COMPUTER LAB—The Library computer laboratory has several workstations for students to use for Internet access as well as word processing.

 

Resources & Services

Are group study rooms available?  

  • Yes, we have one group study available for large group study.  It is available on a 1st come, 1st serve basis.
  • If the room is in use—we also have several tables and study carrels for study purposes.
  • We also have individual study rooms for faculty and study carrels for graduate students.

I’m an instructor and would like to like to schedule a library instruction session for my class.  How do I do that? 

  • Please contact your library liaison or call (804) 257-5820 to schedule an appointment.

Can I schedule an appointment for specialized research assistance?   Yes, we welcome requests for individual instruction or research assistance. 

  • If you are an instructor, please contact your library liaison or call (804) 257-5820 for assistance. 
  • If you are a student or researcher, any librarian can assist you with basic research requests. 
  • For subject specific or archival research, please call (804) 257-5822 so that we may direct you to the librarian best suited to your research request.
 

Finding Books

How do I find the book I want?

The Online Catalog (WALNET) is the resource to use to locate books, periodicals and DVDs owned by the library.  This includes any items on Reserve.

Do you have copies of textbooks?

We do not purchase textbooks as part of our collection development policy.  Any textbooks we have are on Reserve at the Periodicals Desk.  However, some textbooks (usually older editions) are available for check-out in the General Collection (Stacks).

What is the loan period for books?

  • Loan periods vary for VUU faculty, staff and students:
  • Undergraduates = 14 days
  • STVU graduate students = 30 days
  • VUU faculty = semester
  • VUU staff = 14 days
  • VUU alumni = 14 days

Is there a fiction section?

  • We have fiction books available in our collection; however they are not separated out from the main collection.  If you are looking for a specific title, use the online catalog to locate it.  If you just want to browse, that may prove difficult to do because the works of fiction are spread out over a wide call number range. 
  • Try the following to locate fiction titles:
    (1) Enter the online catalog:  Type “fiction”
    (2) Click the Subject button
    (3) The list of titles retrieved will be fiction titles
 

Access to Electronic Resources

How Do I Get to the Library Website?

Is Off-campus access to Library resources available?

  • Yes, the Library provides Off-campus or “Remote” access to resources such as the electronic databases, electronic journals (e-journals), e-books, and the online catalog.
  • This access is only for VUU students, faculty and staff.
  • You will need your VUU e-mail username and password—these will be used to access the databases and e-journals.  Visit the Off-campus page at http://www.vuu.edu/library/off_campus_users.aspx for more information.

For access to other available electronic resources provided by the library--see the Library Links box.

 

  Printing & Photcopying

How do I pay for printing and photocopying?

  • Printing:  printing at the Library costs 10 cents per page.
  • Copying:  copying at the Library costs 10 cents per page.
  • We do not accept debit or credit cards.

How do I print and how much does it cost?

  • You may print from any available public computer.
  • Basic printing:  select File, and then Print.  You are advised to use Print Preview to verify the number of pages to be printed, page formatting or any other concerns, before you print your document.
  • The Library does not reimburse for printing mistakes due to user error (such as printing more pages than desired, printing the wrong information, printing pages with missing information, etc).  Only errors caused by printer malfunction will be reimbursed (such as low toner, paper jams, etc).

Can I print from my laptop? 

No, at this time you will need to save your document to a USB drive or e-mail the document to yourself.  Then you will need to open up the document using one of our library computers and print from there.

Is there a scanner I can use?

No, we do not have a scanner for public use.

My Profile

Profile Image
Pamela Foreman

Library Web Links

Online Catalog (WALNET)—use WALNET to look up books, journals, audio-visual materials and reserve items.  WALNET is accessible wherever Internet access is available.  Access WALNET from the library homepage.

Electronic Resources [Databases, E-books, E-journals, LibGuides]—Wilder Library provides a variety of electronic resources to assist in the research process. 

  • Databases locate full-text articles and/or article abstracts that are stored electronically on a subscription database. 
  • E-books are electronic versions of printed (paper) books. 
  • E-journals are electronic versions of print journals. 
  • LibGuides provide librarian-created online guides on courses (classes) or topic specific research areas.  This FAQs guide is an example of a LibGuide.  Others are available on a variety of subjects.

For information on any questions not answered in this guide, please visit the library homepage or call the library circulation desk at (804) 257-5822.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip